Bangalore University

The Bangalore University is one of the largest Universities in India which is located in the South - Western part of Bengaluru city, adjacent to Mysore road and is roughly 10 km from Railway-station / Kempe Gowda Bus Station (KBS) and around 40 km from Bengaluru International Airport. Bangalore University is accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) under the new grading system with a grade A in 2016. The Week - Hansa – best university Survey 2016 of Indian Universities has ranked Bangalore University at 15th position at the National level.



Department of Geography

The Department of Geography is one of the reputed departments in the Faculty of Science, Bangalore University, and Karnataka. The PG Department of Geography was started in the year of 1974-75 in the Central College Campus, Bangalore University. The Honourable Vice-Chancellor Dr. H. Narasimhaih and Prof. M.S. Shanthaveeraiah were behind the establishment of the Department. The department offers excellent postgraduate training and provides rich and diverse research opportunities for both local and foreign students. The department has two full time professors, one visiting professor and six guest faculties at the moment. Staff members of the department are actively engaged in teaching and research activities relating to their fields of specialization. Conferences, workshops, seminars, training, research projects are continuously organized by the department of Geography with the support of different funding sources. The department members are actively celebrating Earth Day, Environment Day, metrological day etc through planting trees, cleaning the university premises and having special lecturers.



The Union of Geographic Information Technologists (UGIT) is the nationwide organization representing geographers from public and private sectors and from universities. The UGIT is dynamic on many fronts: from the spreading of geographic research to the backing of geographic education and support with international organizations. The member of the union shall be any Indian, Non-Residential India of Foreigner who possess a Master’s Degree in Geography or any spatial science and is engaged in research, academic activities, N.G.O or working in any National or Multi-national Corporations. 



Board of governing the UGIT Conference 2017


Prof. H. N. Ramesh

Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor
Bangalore University


Prof. B.K. Ravi

Bangalore University


Dr. A. Lokesha

Finance Officer
Bangalore University


Dr. Ashok D. Hanjagi

Professor & Chairman

Organizing Secretary

Dr. A.S. Rayamane

Professor of Geography



  • Sri. Lakshman, Chairman, KSPCB, Bengaluru
  • Sri. Manjunath Prasad, Commissioner, BBMP, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Honne Gowda, Director, KSTA, Bengaluru
  • Managing Director, VGST, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Prabhuraj D.K., Director, KSRSAC, Bengaluru
  • Dr. G. S. Srinivas Reddy, KSNDMC, Bengaluru
  • Director, Watershed Department, Bengaluru
  • Executive Chief Engineer, WRDO, Bengaluru
  • Director, IMD, Bengaluru


  • Dr. Pritvish Nag, Vice-Chancellor, Varanasi
  • Dr. J. Krishnamurthy, ISRO, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Ashok Hanjagi, Bangalore University, Bengaluru
  • Dr. A. S. Rayamane, Bangalore University, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Bill Prichard, Sydney University, Sydney
  • Dr. Graham Clarke, University of Leeds, UK
  • Dr. V. Venkateshwar Rao, NRSC, Hyderabad
  • Dr. C B S Datt, NRSC, Hyderabad
  • Dr. Ganesh Raj, RRSC, Bengaluru
  • Dr. T. V. Ramachandra, IISc, Bengaluru
  • Dr. V. Raghavaswamy, NRSC, Hyderabad
  • Ms. Saswati Mishra, CCF, Bengaluru
  • Dr. K.W.G Rekha Nianthi, University of Peradeniya Sri Lanka
  • Prof. Nandini N. Bangalore University, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Manikiam B. ISRO, Bengaluru
  • Prof. Shivagnanam, Madras University, Chennai
  • Prof. T. Vasantakumaran, Madras University, Chennai
  • Prof. Jaganathan R., Head, Madras University
  • Prof. Dayasagar, IIS, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Lakshmana C M., ISEC, Bengaluru
  • Dr. Priya N, & Ms. B. Arularasi - Rapporteurs


  • Prof. I.S. Shivakumara, Dean, Science Faculty, BUB
  • Prof. Prabhakar, Director – IQAC, BUB
  • Prof. Manjunath K., Head, Microbiology, BUB
  • Prof. Somashekar, Environmental Science, BUB
  • Sri. I.N. Patil, Treasurer, UGIT
  • Dr. Malarkodi, Head, Department of Geology, BUB
  • Prof. S I Biradar, Head, Geography, KUD
  • Prof. Asima Nusrat Head, Geography, Mysore University
  • Prof. Krishnakumari, Head, Geography, SV University
  • Prof. Venugopal Rao, Head, Osmania University
  • Prof. T. Venkata Krishna, Head, Andhra University
  • Prof. Hurakadli SM, Head, Chennamma University
  • Dr. Emayawarmban, Head, Madhurai Kamraj University
  • Prof. Sulochana S., Head, CUK, Gulburga
  • Dr. Ramu, Co-ordinator, Geoinformatics, Mysore
  • Dr. Chendrayudu, SV University, Tirupathi
  • Dr. Sannasiddannannavar SS, Mysore University
  • Dr. D.P. Angadi, Coordinator, Mangalore University


  • Dr. Rita Basanna
  • Dr.Jayalakshmi SH
  • Dr. Shivkumar SP
  • Mr. Ananthakrishna DS
  • Mr. Nagendra M.
  • Mr. Nagabhushana
  • Mr. Mutharaj D
  • Mr. Muniraju DH
  • Mr. Kullayappa M
  • Abhishek MJ
  • Ms. Sandhyakumari R
  • Ms Shahnin Irfan
  • Mr. Muniraja HA
  • Mr. Basavaraja GR
  • Mr. Shekar Angadi
  • Mr. Ramana Gowda
  • Ms. Sharadamma
  • Ms. Prathima SR
  • Dr. Vishwanath BC
  • Mr. Hanumantharaju R
  • Dr.Rangappa
  • Mr. Ashwatha KN
  • Mr.Harish HS
  • Dr. Surendra
  • Mr.Diwakar R
  • Ms. Rathnamma MD